Cloud Business Summit Rethinking Business Innovation

Call for Nominations: Saugatuck’s Beacon Awards for Business Innovation

The Cloud Business Summit is a yearly opportunity to experience effective innovation in how the evolving and emerging mix of Cloud IT and business services, Mobility, Social / Collaborative IT, and Business Analytics are improving and creating ways of doing business – and creating new opportunities.

Saugatuck Technology’s Beacon Awards, presented annually at the Cloud Business Summit, provide a platform to recognize and profile the business and IT leaders and organizations that conceive, create, implement, and profit from these advances.

As with our inaugural awards last year, our 2013 Beacon Awards will recognize business and IT leaders for innovation in four areas of business and IT:

  • Customer Engagement / Satisfaction
  • Products / Solutions
  • Markets / Partnering
  • Business Models / Realizing Revenue

Firms of any type may nominate themselves, customers, or partners, as long as they are using those technologies in new and innovative ways to improve, change, or create new business or new ways of doing business (*).

Nominations must be submitted via email to Saugatuck at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , and should include the following information:

  • Nominated Company: Please provide the name of the company and executive being nominated, along with their full contact information (including phone and email).
  • Submitted By: Please provide the name of the person and company who is submitting the nomination, along with their full contact information (including phone and email).
  • Nomination Submission: In 500 words or less, please provide an overview of the nominated company’s innovation for the Beacon Award committee to consider. If you have supporting evidence that you would like the committee to review, such as a case study, or a video, please attach or provide links. Key information to be provided in your submission should include:
    • What was the opportunity, change, improvement or problem that needed to be addressed?
    • Why was this important to the firm under consideration – e.g., what was being lost, or what was to be gained?
    • What was done that was innovative in terms of development or use of Cloud and related technologies to help solve the problem or improve the situation?  
    • How was this truly innovative: e.g., is it a previously unknown use or application of technology for this type of business; is it a new type of business for the firm; did it create a new area of opportunity that was pursued;
    • What were the results? What was the change/improvement/resolution; how was this measured or demonstrated?
    • What, if anything, is next? Are there any plans to build on or extend what was learned into new or different areas of the business?

The deadline for submission of nominations is July 15, 2013.  All nominations will be reviewed and judged by Saugatuck; all judgments are considered final and not subject to appeal.

Bruce Guptill, SVP and Head of Research, will lead the review of all nominations and can answer any questions about the awards. Please contact him at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Winners will be recognized at a special ceremony during the 2013 Cloud Business Summit in New York City, and will be invited to a recognition reception with peers, media, and Saugatuck executives. Winners will be also profiled in research published as part of Saugatuck’s ongoing research programs; winners are entitled to one year of rights to reprint that research, subject to Saugatuck reprint and copyright policies.

Saugatuck assumes that any and all information shared in the context of the Beacon Award process is for public consumption.  As an unbiased and independent research and consulting firm, Saugatuck does not require or imply that any firm be a client of any of Saugatuck’s business consulting or research services in order to be eligible to receive any award.

Note 1: While our judges are predisposed toward the innovative use of Cloud IT and related technologies by traditional business and IT organizations, at midsize and large enterprises, IT services and technology providers can likewise nominate themselves so long as the focus of their nomination is on how their products have dramatically helped improved their own business performance.

Note 2: For a brief summary of the winners of Saugatuck’s 2012 Beacon Awards, please read the following Lens 360 blog post: